The RL POETRY AWARD 2016 was open to both Indian poets and poets of other nationalities. Unlike its past editions, RL POETRY AWARD 2016  solicited poetry manuscripts from poets whose first poetry book was due or authored a single book from a small, independent presses. The award attracted 87 manuscripts.

The 12 award finalists of the RL POETRY AWARD 2016 were selected by the poet, founder & editor-in-chief, Linda Ashok in both the national (6) & international (6) categories. Due exceptional quality of submissions received, the RL POETRY AWARD 2016 have got 3 poets whose first manuscripts will be published by RLFPA Editions. 

We are grateful to our poetry communities (individuals & institutions) in India and abroad for publishing/distributing/sharing our call for submissions. We are much thankful to Commonwealth Writers, Griffin Poetry, Asymptote Journal, The Single Story FDN and everyone who made this edition a success!


Jon TribbleJon Tribble is the managing editor of Crab Orchard Review and the series editor of the Crab Orchard Series in Poetry published by Southern Illinois University Press. He is the recipient of a 2003 Artist Fellowship Award in Poetry from the Illinois Arts Council and his poems have appeared in journals and anthologies, including Ploughshares. POETRY, Crazyhorse, Quarterly West, and The Jazz Poetry Anthology. His work was selected as the 2001 winner of the Campbell Corner Poetry Prize from Sarah Lawrence College. He teaches creative writing and literature, and directs undergraduate and graduate students in internships and independent study in editing and literary publishing for the Department of English at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. “


Vinita Agrawal

“Author of three books of poetry, Vinita Agrawal is a Mumbai based, award winning poet and writer. Recipient of the Gayatri GaMarsh Memorial Award for Literary Excellence her poems have appeared in Asiancha, Constellations, The Fox Chase Review, Pea River Journal, Open Road Review, Stockholm Literary Review, Poetry Pacific, Mithila Review and over a 100 other national and international journals. She was nominated for the Best of the Net Awards in 2011. She was awarded first prize in the Wordweavers Contest 2014, commendation prize in the All India Poetry Competition 2014 and won the 2014 Hour of Writes Contest thrice. Her poems have found a place in significant national anthologies like Suvarnarekha and Dance with the Peacocks in several international anthologies compiled in Australia and Israel. She was co-judge for the Asian Cha Poetry Contest, 2015. She has read at SAARC events, at the U.S. Consulate, at Delhi Poetree and at Cappucino Readings, Mumbai.”

Barnali Ray Shukla – Winner

Manik Sharma – Highly Commended/Editor’s Choice

Avner Medon Pariat – Finalist

Dinesh Sairam – Finalist

Uttaran Dasgupta – Finalist

Priyanka Kapoor – Finalist

Stephen Bryne – Winner

Catlin Stobie – Finalist

Janet Wu – Finalist

L Shapley Bassen – Finalist

Shabnam Shehan – Finalist

Lana Bella – Finalist